Eight Women to Contest Bahrain Polls in 2010


According to Zajil Press, the women filed papers in four governorates against powerful male rivals like Independent MP Jassim Al Saidi and Lower House Speaker Khalifa Al Dhahrani.

Three women candidates have filed papers to contest election in the Muharraq governorate. They are Dr Anisa Fakhro and Sabah Al Dosari in the constituency seven and Badriya Ali in the eighth constituency.

Two women will contest election in the southern governorate. They are the current MP Latifa Al Qaood and Amal Sharida. Fawziya Zainal and Lateefa Al Bunudhor will contest in the Central Governorate, while Jamila Al Samak will contest in Manama. The Northern Governorate has no female candidate.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *